Sunday Stroll through Oltrarno

A gate we stumbled upon when reorienting ourselves in the direction we wanted to go

I don’t know what it is about this place that makes me need to sleep so much. I sleep more here that I ever did at home and even after getting tons of sleep one night, the next night I’ll sleep just as much again.

So after sleeping in until noon (which, like I said, isn’t terribly characteristic of me), Amy and I got ready and set out for our adventures in Oltrarno for the day. We started by getting a panino at a place recommended by Rick Steves that was super yummy. After crossing the Arno at he Ponte Vecchio, we decided to just wander the streets in the general direction that we wanted to go. After deciding to get back on track, we ran across this jewelry store that was open only on Sundays (a rarity in Italy). Inside were some of the most spectacular pieces of art I’ve ever seen. They were so ornate and intricate and massive, that after seeing only one piece, you realized these weren’t really for wearing but only for looking (the prices were pretty steep too). Amy wanted to take a class that he was offering, but it cost about 3,000 euro.

After gawking at the jewelry for some time, we continued down the road and then discovered a small rose garden en route to our destination. We wandered around inside for a bit; unfortunately, there weren’t many roses because it wasn’t really “rose” season. But it seemed like a really nice place to go in the spring and just relax and hang out with a great view of the city.

Further up the road (and some stairs) was the Piazzale Michaelangelo. This place was worth the walk and had fantastic views of the city. After trekking back down, we treated ourselves to a little gelato treat and then found the fancy Conad in Oltrarno and bought tons of groceries that we stuffed in our reusable bags and schlepped back home. That’s something you have to be careful of – not buying more than you can carry. We came home, unloaded, and I worked on my blog and updating photos. It was a really great day for it being a Sunday and everyone else being in Cinque Terre.

I also Skyped Justin for the first time today! It was so nice to see him after not being able to talk much for almost a week. I can’t wait to Skype my parents too. I miss them all a lot, but being so busy here has helped keep me pretty distracted.

GatJewlery ShopJewlery ShopJewlery ShopJewlery ShopJewlery Shop

Jewlery ShopJewlery ShopJewlery ShopJewlery ShopJewlery ShopJewlery Shop
Jewlery ShopJewlery ShopJewlery ShopJewlery ShopJewlery ShopJewlery Shop
Jewlery ShopJewlery ShopJewlery ShopJewlery ShopJewlery ShopJewlery Shop

A day exploring the streats south of the Arno River in Florence Italy.

Oltrarno, a set on Flickr.

