Forza Fiorentina! Alé! Alé! Viola!

So school was the same old same old today. But that’s ok. I guess it means that I’m learning more and more Italian! My phone finally reactivated today since I put more money on it yesterday at our favorite Tabacchi/bar on the way to school. The family that runs it is so incredibly nice. Their son says ciao to us, gives us cacao in our cappuccino, and blows us kisses when we come and go. It’s a nice way to start the morning.

So after school, I ran errands with my friend Sam as Amy got the wifi hooked up to her computer at school. We found a great cartoleria that sold ACTUAL school supplies! They had spiral bound notebooks and just about every kind of pen, paper, notebook, and pencil. Next we went to the 99¢ store for Sam. I ended up buying a little pencil cup to put my toothbrush in and we split a 2-pack of playing cards. On the list next was to find a Fiorentina futbol shirt for the game that night. But first we stopped by this gaming store that Sam hadn’t been into yet. I am really tempted to buy the Assassin’s Creed calendar in the front window. After browsing around inside, we went to the athletic store near the Duomo so that Sam could buy her Corri La Vita shirt, and we figured they might have Fiorentina shirts as well. Their selection was not very good so we decided to look elsewhere. We stopped by the BNL for Sam and I ended up getting more money out too and then, since the ticket booth for the game was right around the corner, I asked (in Italian of course!) where we could buy the t-shirt. They lady told us that it was down the street and we journeyed to the store to buy ourselves a purple shirt with the fleur-de-lis on the front.

When I got home, our mysterious Linksys connection was working so well that I was able to Skype mom and dad! It was SO good to see them since I hadn’t seen them in almost two weeks. Once the internet is stable, next on the list is Justin. Later I met Sam again in front of the Conad to walk to school where we were going to meet a group of kids from school to walk to the game (calcio). The game was sold out because Fiorentina was playing their biggest arch-rival, Juventus. We had to squish our way through the gates and we held on to the strap of each others bag so that we wouldn’t get separated; but even that didn’t work all the time. I had a guy say, “Basta! Basta!” to me since I was kind of cutting in front of him, but I didn’t stop (which is what basta means) since I didn’t want to lose track of who I was with. I’m sure he would have understood if I told him in Italian. Luckily, we sat in the “calm” side, even though it wasn’t really that calm. The place was packed and the only color you could see was a sea of purple all around the stadium. Flags were waving and the fans were singing fight songs all throughout the game. The rowdy side was even crazier. They had purple and red smoke bombs and flags to make the shape of the team logo and the face of their favorite player. There was even a point in the game where the Juventus fans threw a smoke bomb into the crowd on the “calm” side and then fans started climbing up the enclosure that they were in. As a side note, the Juventus fans were completely separated from the rest of the crowd. They had two small sections that were surrounded by some kind of “glass” or plastic and then on top of that, there were security guards with riot shields not allowing anyone to sit half of the bleacher length on either side of their enclosure. You would think they were guarding some kind of deranged wild animal. Unfortunately, the game ended in a tie. Which I suppose is good since the Juventus team apparently had several really good players and our goalie was able to block all of their attempts. All in all, it wasn’t too scary or crazy and it was pretty fun for my first professional soccer game experience. Unfortunately, I don’t have any pictures from the match because I was told not to bring a camera. I might steal some off of Facebook from my friends though (once I have internet of course).

On the way home Laura and I stopped by this place so that I could get a bowl of fruit, since I was strangely craving it. I munched on cantaloupe, kiwi, strawberries, and grapes and spat seeds into the Arno. I eventually made it home and went to bed exhausted. It was definitely a Rich, Fulfilling, and Interesting Day.

Background on the ACF Fiorentina Soccer Team

Fiorentina History
ACF Fiorentina, commonly referred to as simply Fiorentina, is a professional Italian football club from Florence, Tuscany. Founded by a merger in 1926, Fiorentina have played at the top level of Italian football for the majority of their existence; only four clubs have played in more Series A seasons.
Fiorentina have won two Italian Championships, in 1955056 and again in 1968-69, as well as winning six Coppa Italia trophies and one Italian Super Cup. On the European stage, Fiorentina won the EUFA Cup Winners’ Cup in 1960-61 and lost the final one year later, they finished runners-up in the 1956-57 European Cup losing against Real Madrid and also came close to winning the EUFA Cup, finishing as runners-up in the 1989-90 season.
Since 1931 the club has played at the Stadio Artemio Franchi, which currently has a capacity of 47,282. Fiorentina are known widely by the nickname Viola, as a reference to their distinctive purple colors.

The Badge used by Florentia Viola

Fiorentina Logo

The official emblem of the city of Florence, a red fleur-de-lis on a white field, has been pivotal in the all-round symbolism of the club
Over the course of the club’s history, they have had several badge changes, all of which incorporated Florence’s fleur-de-lis in some way. Today’s logo is a kite shaped double lozenge bordered in gold. The outer lozenge has a purple background with the letters “AC” in white and the letter “F” in red, standing for the club’s name. The inner lozenge is white with a cold border and the red fleur-de-lis of Florence. This logo has been in use from 1992-2002, but after the financial crisis and resurrection of the club, the new one couldn’t use the same logo. Florence’s commune instead granted Florentia Viola use of the stylized coat of arms used in other city documents. Diego Della Valle acquired the current logo the following year in a judicial auction for a fee of €2.5 million, making it the most expensive logo in Italian football.

