Architecture Midterms

Today’s the DAY! The day of Architecture midterm reviews! I was so tired that I passed out in class for a good 30 minutes during some people’s reviews – oops! Afterwards though I felt pretty good and wasn’t that tired at all. Worked on other projects throughout the day after they decided to not make us all sit through each and every person’s review. It was actually really nice to be able to step back and really think about my project. I decided to not even go through the internet to try and resolve issues I’ve been dealing with. The only unfortunate thing was that by the time it was my turn to present my project to my professors, I felt like it needed so much more than what I had to present. I felt like I had so much more that I was going to develop and that what I had to present wasn’t really what I felt I was going to carry through with. The hardest part about this project is that I have this idea and I don’t know how to model it. It’s form is so hard to conceive that I don’t know how to build it in a computer model OR a physical model, nor do I really know how to even draw it, in plan, section, or elevation – and that’s kind of the point. It’s not that difficult of an idea, it’s just how do it DO it. Conceptually, it would be a lot easier to do if I knew how to use the programs that could help me model it, like Rhino. All I would have to do is lay out the dimensions of the site and create some sort of grid, then I would pick certain critical points and pull the mesh down into a column and then push it up in certain places. DONE. Certainly, it’s easier said than actually done, so I have no idea what I’m going to do. So much for me trying to be out of the box on this one – I come up with an idea I don’t know how to build. Figures.

