Merry Christmas from Florence

Christmas Cappuccino

Christmas Cappuccino

The whole clan slept in today. I still can’t get over how glad I am that they are here. There is nothing better in the world than my family. We feasted on a delicious breakfast feast and then set out for coffee (since the only stuff in the apartment was decaf-and that’s a no no). Finding a place that was open was difficult, but Palazzo Strozzi has a nice little caffe inside it’s courtyard. They made the fanciest cappuccini you ever did see! Afterwards we strolled through the nearly empty streets of Florence seeing the Duomo, the Ospidale degli Innocenti, Palazzo Vecchio, etc.

Afterwards we headed home for a little apertivo and prepared ourselves for our sumptuous dinner at La Giostra. It was so wonderful. It smelled like Christmas tree inside and had Christmas lights all around sparkling. It was really special. We all ordered something different and shared bites of each person’s dish. So yummy!

We came home full and content. It was indeed a very Merry Christmas even if it wasn’t how we usually celebrate. I am so thankful that I have a family that I love so much and that has the means to come half way around the world to see me. I am the luckiest person alive.

Dinner at La Giostra

Dinner at La Giostra

