Happy New BOOM

I wish I actually took this

I wish I actually took this

Well last night was New Years, or Capodanno in Italian. Wow. It was my first time really “celebrating” the New Year let alone in another country. I had dinner with Amy’s family, which was really nice because it made me feel like my own family was here. While we were eating, we could hear people setting off fireworks, and it was only about 8 o’clock at that point. After dinner was all cleaned up, Amy, her brother Ryan, and I went out to the concerts that were set up all over town. It was already crazy. It was about 10:45 when we left and people were literally setting off small bombs in the street. They weren’t even colorful or pretty, which is dumb, just REALLY loud and scary. We listened to the jazz band playing in Piazza della Repubblica. Then people started setting off fireworks (at not New Years yet). So this giant circle formed where they could set them off. Some actually had color this time. And some were just flare-like things. Then this girl started dancing and cartwheeling around the circle. I’m pretty sure she was WAY more than drunk. I think she was high on something. There was one point where she was laying on the ground and either laid on top of a firework, or someone threw one at her and she was completely unfazed. She would walk within a foot or so of other fireworks that were going off and had no care at all about her own safety. It could have been bad. Then all of the sudden, the singer said, “Happy New Year!” and fireworks went off all around there were numerous spine-chilling BOOMS and we figured that that was it. Happy New Year! So we decided to leave before things got too crazy. People were spraying champagne everywhere and the booming increased. And when we were walking towards our house, the biggest bomb-thing went off. I was pretty sure that I would be bleeding out of my ears. It was nuts. We found a quiet(er) street to walk down and eventually made it home. The booms continued though, all through the night. Luckily they weren’t loud enough to keep me awake at night.

New Years Day was a bit tricky though. I didn’t really know what to do because I knew that almost everything would be closed. I decided to go to the one place that I knew would be open – Astor. And even then, they didn’t open for another hour (which put me at noon). So I walked to the other side of the Duomo and decided to sketch for a bit. So I attempted to draw a little portion of the Duomo, which didn’t turn out that great because my hands were so cold I couldn’t draw a straight line. I eventually got into Astor and tried to warm up, with two cappuccinos and a brioche. My feet felt like they would fall off. So I asked my friend Kim if I could come over, which she so graciously allowed. I stopped by Signum too to get thank you notes for my Christmas/birthday gifts from the family. The rest of the day was spent rather lazily, catching up on my journal and blog and sort-of watching “The Hobbit.”

