Paris Minus One

Went to find the Bastille from there and on trying to get our connection…the metro was stopped short and everyone was getting off. I noticed some people getting off and pointing to the ground and or trying to look through the gap between the metro and the tracks. It became obvious that maybe something was wrong with the metro or something was on the tracks. The people across the tracks were also just staring down at the wheels. Me and my infinite curiosity wanted to know what was going on. So we crossed the tracks (with the stairs) to see what was going on. We thought it was maybe like a suitcase that fell or God forbid an animal. But no. I rounded the corner and that’s when I saw it. It was the worst possible thing that could make a train stop. It was a poor black man wedged between the wheels. Those few seconds felt like a lifetime. I realized that it was the first time I’ve ever really seen a real dead person. I kept and keep having a sort of flashback to the way he looked. I’ve heard it said that when a person dies you can see the absence of a soul from a body. And I think I could see that. He seemed rather peaceful. Like maybe he was sleeping. I thought that maybe there would be blood and guts because in the back of my mind the whole time I suspected it might have been a person. I don’t know the conditions of this accident were, whether or not it was suicide or he just fell in because he was drunk or on drugs; maybe it was murder; truth is I don’t know and I don’t know if I want to. But all I can hope and pray for is that he is in a better place now. That his soul is at rest with whatever troubles he may have been facing,even though that probably wasn’t the right way to handle it. I think it’s important to know that everyone is important to someone. Someone always values you and your life regardless of whether or not they even know you. I just hope that that poor man is at home with Jesus tonight.

