Pottery Class

Started a pottery class with the school today! It was so much fun to sink your hands into something gooey. Also to be creative in a different way. I should have taken a photo of the pot I made, but I was a little bit messy. I kept thinking of the Bible verses about potters and clay. I decided mid-vase too to create something that the clay and the technique lent itself towards; but still had control over the design. I also kept thinking about the guy at church who sometimes does a sermon on potters, pots, and clay. It became something a bit spiritual for me and I really enjoyed it. The instructor guy really seemed to like my design too! It is a free-form-y shaped vase thing. Let’s hope it doesn’t explode in the kiln!

My first vase in pottery class

My first vase in pottery class

Jeremiah 18:1-6

God told Jeremiah, “Up on your feet! Go to the potter’s house. When you get there, I’ll tell you what I have to say.” So I went to the potter’s house, and sure enough, the potter was there, working away at his wheel. Whenever the pot the potter was working on turned out badly, as sometimes happens when you are working with clay, the potter would simply start over and use the same clay to make another pot. Then God’s Message came to me: “Can’t I do just as this potter does, people of Israel?” God’s Decree! “Watch this potter. In the same way that this potter works his clay, I work on you, people of Israel. At any moment I may decide to pull up a people or a country by the roots and get rid of them. But if they repent of their wicked lives, I will think twice and start over with them. At another time I might decide to plant a people or country, but if they don’t cooperate and won’t listen to me, I will think again and give up on the plans I had for them.

Isaiah 64:8

Still, God, you are our Father. We’re the clay and you’re our potter: All of us are what you made us.

Romans 9:20-21

Who in the world do you think you are to second-guess God? Do you for one moment suppose any of us knows enough to call God into question? Clay doesn’t talk back to the fingers that mold it, saying, “Why did you shape me like this?” Isn’t it obvious that a potter has a perfect right to shape one lump of clay into a vase for holding flowers and another into a pot for cooking beans? If God needs one style of pottery especially designed to show his angry displeasure and another style carefully crafted to show his glorious goodness, isn’t that all right?

