Hands

You’re on a long flight, and a palm reader sitting next to you insists she reads your palm. You hesitate, but agree. What does she tell you?

Reach

Personal sketch

Honestly, I don’t know.  I’ll leave it at that.

But this did get me thinking about how our hands tell the story of our lives.  Calloused and tan hands show hard work.  Soft and smooth can show tenderness and compassion.  I remember seeing something on TV once about how people are actually injecting their hands with fillers to get rid of wrinkles – I think this is incredibly absurd.  Where and when will people draw the line?  The reason was that while you can hide your age on your face and body, your hands will always tell  how old you really are.  I also heard on the radio last night that if you want to remember someone, focus on their eyes because they change the least throughout a person’s life.  So here we are with two opposites.  We should remember that our eyes can show others our soul, which will surpass our body in youth and vitality and our hands can tell the story of what we’ve done and where we’ve been.  Let yourself be the story you tell others.

Final project for my life drawing  class in the fall of last year

Final project for my life drawing class in the fall of last year

